- Effective June 23, 2017, 16- and 17-year-old minors in Wisconsin are no longer required to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. (Previously, all minors in Wisconsin were required to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work.)
What Stayed the Same?
- Minors younger than 16 must still obtain a work permit prior to beginning work.
- There are no changes to the maximum hours or times of days that minors younger than 16 may work.
- Prohibited employment provisions still apply to work that minors can perform. Wisconsin state law still prohibits all minors under 18 from performing hazardous work and differentiates the types of jobs by age. Examples of jobs prohibited to minors under the age of 16 would be working in a factory or anywhere where manufacturing takes place, or operating power machinery. A 16 or 17 year old is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle as a part of the job. A complete list of hazardous jobs can be found here.
For additional information or to view the state requirements for child labor specific to Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, please click here. If you have further questions or need additional information, please contact our HR Advisor team at InfoNow@mranet.org or 866-HR-Hotline (866-474-6854).
Source: Michael Hyatt, HR Government Affairs Director, MRA - The Management Association